Skip to main content

How DPUP fits into the information life cycle

Agencies can apply the Data Protection and Use Policy (DPUP) to each step in the information life cycle.

Understanding the information life cycle

An information life cycle covers all the different ways an agency collects and uses data and personal information about its service users, whānau and communities. It generally contains the following steps:

  1. Plan
  2. Collect
  3. Use
  4. Conclude and share.

These common steps typically apply to collecting and using information, regardless of who is using it or the kind of work they do.

There are key things to think about at each step. Sometimes the steps are quite formal and detailed, other times less so. The starting point is often a decision or plan to collect or use some information. The end point is when some kind of conclusion is drawn, insight found, advice given, a decision is made or action taken. Potentially the knowledge is then shared with others.

Each step in the information life cycle aligns with some of the DPUP Guidelines and Principles.

Utility links and page information

Was this page helpful?
Thanks, do you want to tell us more?

Do not enter personal information. All fields are optional.

Last updated